OUR POLICY

Human behaviour is complex and multifaceted. We have therefore developed a methodological orientation. Using this we investigate human behaviour holistically within its historical, social and ecological context. Our work is:

Diachronic

With foresight into the future: Only a diachronic comparison can chart the often turbulent paths taken by human behaviour. This unique perspective on humanity sends out new impulses for science, society and politics.

In Perspective

Changes in perspective broaden our awareness. We interpret archaeological events from the vantage point of differently scaled levels of observation. Broader pictures provide orientation, narrower ones a higher resolution – just like the lens of a microscope. Only the transfer of information between these different levels of resolution leads to a comprehensive picture of human behaviour.

Integrative

Humanity through Time and Space: Our research policy connects various sources and contexts with one another. These are focused within three investigative units: »Time Slices« is dedicated to the related questions of where, when and under which conditions, human behaviour manifests itself. »Strategies« and »Social Organization« investigate strategies for survival and patterns of behaviour within their social context.

Cross Disciplinary

Human behaviour cannot be studied like a rat in a laboratory: Our research is determined by more than just interdisciplinary cooperation. Ongoing socio-political discussion and new impetus from non-scientific contexts are essential to the investigation of human behavioural development.


PROJECTS

Our research topics and their projects are designed in the short and medium term. In cooperation with scientists from all over the world, we will explore when, how, for what purpose and in what context these behaviours were accumulated. An overview of current and already completed projects can be found here. Please click to access the Map via full screen and find the English project descriptions attached.


UNIVERSITY TEACHING

Teaching and promotion of young scientists are a high priority at MONREPOS. This is demonstrated by a dedicated course and mentoring program and the many opportunities for participation available to students at MONREPOS. In a comprehensive curriculum, archaeologists from MONREPOS provide knowledge, experience and networks.

https://monrepos.rgzm.de/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/open-science-e1524122018468-900x500.jpg

AMENITIES & FURTHER INFORMATION

MONREPOS provides a framework for successful archaeology. Our laboratories, archives and library are available for research purposes by arrangement. A first overview of the existing equipment and the collections can be found here.


HUMAN ROOTS AWARD

The Human Roots Award is an international archaeology award. It was created in 2017 and is awarded annually by MONREPOS - The Archaeological Research Centre and Museum of Human Behavioural Evolution at Schloss Monrepos near Neuwied.

LEITBILD

Menschliches Verhalten ist vielschichtig und facettenreich. Deshalb haben wir ein methodisches Leitbild entwickelt. Damit untersuchen wir menschliches Verhalten ganzheitlich in seinem historischen, sozialen und ökologischen Kontext. Wir arbeiten:

Diachron

Mit Weitblick in die Zukunft: Nur der diachrone Vergleich kann die oft turbulenten Entwicklungswege menschlichen Verhaltens nachzeichnen. Diese einzigartige Perspektive auf den Menschen gibt neue Impulse für Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik.

Perspektivisch

Perspektivenwechsel vergrößern die Wahrnehmung: Wir interpretieren archäologische Ergebnisse aus dem Blickwinkel unterschiedlich skalierter Betrachtungsebenen. Große Bildflächen bieten Orientierung, kleinere eine punktuell sehr hohe Auflösung – wie die Objektive eines Mikroskops. Erst durch den Transfer zwischen den Skalenniveaus entsteht ein umfassendes Bild menschlichen Verhaltens.

Integrativ

Menschen in Zeit und Raum: Unser Forschungsleitbild verknüpft verschiedene Quellen und Kontexte miteinander. Sie sind in drei Untersuchungseinheiten gebündelt: »Zeitscheiben« widmet sich dem Fragenkomplex, wo, wann und unter welchen Rahmenbedingungen sich menschliches Verhalten manifestiert. »Strategien« und »Soziale Organisation« untersuchen Überlebensstrategien und Verhaltensmuster in ihrem sozialen Kontext.

Transdisziplinär

Menschliches Verhalten ist keine Laborratte: Nicht nur die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit bestimmt unsere Forschung. Der stetige gesellschaftspolitische Diskurs und Impulse aus nicht-wissenschaftlichen Zusammenhängen sind für die Erforschung menschlicher Verhaltensentwicklung unverzichtbar.


PROJEKTE

Unsere Forschungsthemen und ihre Projekte sind kurz- und mittelfristig angelegt. In Kooperation mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt erforschen wir wann, wie, wozu und in welchem Kontext diese Verhaltensweisen akkumuliert wurden. Einen Überblick über ausgewählte aktuelle und bereits abgeschlossene Projekte gibt es hier.


UNIVERSITÄRE LEHRE

Lehre und Nachwuchsförderung haben einen hohen Stellenwert in MONREPOS. Davon zeugen ein engagiertes Lehrveranstaltungs- und Mentoringprogramm und die vielfältigen Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten für Studenten in MONREPOS. In einem umfassenden Lehrangebot vermitteln Archäologen aus MONREPOS Wissen, Erfahrungen und Netzwerke.

https://monrepos.rgzm.de/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/open-science-e1524122018468-900x500.jpg

AUSSTATTUNG

MONREPOS bietet die Ausstattung für erfolgreiche Archäologie. Unsere Labore, Archive und die Bibliothek stehen nach Absprache für Forschungszwecke zur Verfügung. Einen ersten Überblick über das vorhandene Equipment und die Sammlungen gibt es hier.


HUMAN ROOTS AWARD

Der Human Roots Award ist ein internationaler Archäologiepreis. Er wurde 2017 ins Leben gerufen und wird jährlich von MONREPOS – Dem Archäologischen Forschungszentrum und Museum für menschliche Verhaltensevolution auf Schloss Monrepos bei Neuwied ausgelobt.