The Award

The Human Roots Award is an international archaeology award. It was created in 2017 and is awarded annually by MONREPOS - The Archaeological Research Centre and Museum of Human Behavioural Evolution at Schloss Monrepos near Neuwied.

The prize is endowed with 10,000 Euros. Until June 2018, Professor Irenäus Eibl-Eibesfeldt - founder of modern human ethology - was the patron of the Human Roots Award. In July 2018, the world-renowned ethologist and evolutionary biologist Professor Richard Dawkins took over the patronage.

The Human Roots Award honours archaeologists or scientists from associated disciplines for achievements that have exerted extraordinary influence on the understanding of our behavioural evolution. The aim of the award is to promote interdisciplinary scientific dialogue and public awareness of the relevance of insights from the study of BecomIng Human for the future of humanity.


LAUREATES

2019

Professor Dr. Robin Dunbar, Oxford

Evolutionary psychologist

2018

Professor Steven Pinker, Harvard

Psychologist and cognitive scientist

2017

Professor Richard Dawkins, Oxford

Ethologist, evolutionary biologist and author of countless scientific publications and books

DER AWARD

Der Human Roots Award ist ein internationaler Archäologiepreis. Er wurde 2017 ins Leben gerufen und wird jährlich von MONREPOS – dem Archäologischen Forschungszentrum und Museum für menschliche Verhaltensevolution auf Schloss Monrepos bei Neuwied ausgelobt.

Der Preis ist mit 10.000 Euro dotiert. Bis Juni 2018 war Professor Irenäus Eibl-Eibesfeldt –Begründer der modernen Humanethologie – Schirmherr des Human Roots Awards. Im Juli 2018 übernahm der weltbekannte Ethologe und Evolutionsbiologe Professor Richard Dawkins die Schirmherrschaft.

Der Human Roots Award ehrt Archäologen oder Wissenschaftler aus Nachbardisziplinen für Leistungen, die außerordentlichen Einfluss auf das Verständnis unserer Verhaltensevolution genommen haben. Ziel des Preises ist es, den interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Dialog zu fördern und das öffentliche Bewusstsein für die Relevanz der Erkenntnisse aus der Erforschung der Menschwerdung für die Zukunft der Menschheit zu schaffen.


DIE PREISTRÄGER

2019

Professor Dr. Robin Dunbar, Oxford

Evolutionspsychologe

2018

Professor Steven Pinker, Harvard

Psychologe und Kognitionswissenschaftler

2017

Professor Richard Dawkins, Oxford

Ethologe, Evolutionsbiologe und Autor unzähliger wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen und Bücher