TraCEr facilities include the following:


Imaging

Imaging of use-wear through 3D high-resolution techniques allows for the quantification of use-wear patterns at different scales. Imaging techniques are implemented through the following pieces of equipment:

3D optical scanner, Aicon SmartScan-HE R8

This structured-light optical scanner can digitize the surface of samples of any size. We currently have two fields of views: 110 × 80 × 70mm and 355 × 265 × 220 mm, with point-to-point distance of 33 and 108 µm, respectively. The acquired 3D models can then be used for archiving purposes or to measure manually or automatically the dimensions or volume of a sample. GIS analyses can also be run on the models.

Stereo-microscope, Zeiss SteREO Discovery.V8

This stereo-microscope is used to screen samples at low magnification (0.63×/0.116 objective with 10× oculars) to assess if the sample is suitable for further analysis. The different light sources (LED swan-neck and ringlight), its large sample height (250mm) and its digital camera (colour-CMOS-sensor with 5MP) allow for the quick characterization and documentation of almost any sample.

3D digital microscope, Zeiss Smartzoom 5

This digital, fully motorized microscope delivers high-quality 2D, EDF and 3D images at total magnifications ranging from 34× to 1010× for both documentation and analysis. The microscope head can be tilted so that samples up to 13 x 10 x 12cm and up to 4kg weight can be observed from different angles without fixing the sample in unstable positions.

Upright light microscope, Zeiss Axio Imager.Z2 Vario, coupled to a 3D laser-scanning confocal microscope, Zeiss LSM 800 MAT

This microscope combines two pieces of equipment in one: an upright light (metallographic) microscope, and a laser-scanning confocal microscope. The former is used to acquire an optical image of the sample, for example for traditional use-wear analysis, while the latter provides a 3D representation of the surface at the sub-micrometric scale for the quantification of use-wear patterns. Both techniques can be applied without moving the sample so that the results of both types of analysis can be directly compared. A choice of objectives is available, depending on the acquisition mode and contrast methods: 5×/0.2, 10×/0.4, 20×/0.22, 20×/0.7, 50×/0.55, 50×/0.75, 50×/0.95.

Other pieces of equipment

HP structured light 3D-Scanner Pro S2
Dino-Lite Edge 5MP


Sample Preparation

Due to its facilities, the sample preparation lab can be used to execute a multitude of tasks. Air filtered chemical storage cupboards and an active carbon filtered recirculated-air extractor hood allows for using substances classified as hazardous to health. A drying cabinet, an 80L vacuum oven, a small vacuum chamber, ultrasonic baths and an ultra-silent compressor are also available.


Experimental workshop

Experimental set-ups and their practical executions are controlled and monitored to a high degree. This is achieved by combining an industrial programmable material test-stand and measuring equipment for material properties. The experimental workshop is equipped with the following appliances:

Programmable material teststand, Inotec SMARTTESTER

The Inotec Smarttester is a programmable and modular teststand to assess functionality, as well as simulating prolonged periods of stress from usage in materials, products and components employed in the manufacturing industry. The test specimen is exposed to a defined strain or stress, which is induced with the help of actuators and controlled by sensors and an integrated control unit. In this way, wear-related phenomena (e.g. Tribology) can be observed for given raw-material pairings and quantification can be attempted with the help of 3D-imaging techniques. TraCEr is the first archaeological institution to harness the Smarttester technology.

Rock saw, Steinschleifmaschinen & Lapidary Tools LTD Goliath 450

The solidly built lapidary diamond-saw Goliath 450 features a diamond cutting disc up to 450mm diameter. It finds its use for manually cutting lithics, minerals, fossils, precious stones, glass, ceramics and bone. Depending on the nature of the cutting disc, a water/oil emulsion cooling fluid is used or plain water. The maximum cutting height is 160mm.

Diamond-Bandsaw, Exakt 310CP

The high-precision EXAKT 310 Diamond Band Saw has been developed for high-precision cutting of a wide variety of different materials and material combinations. The EXAKT 310 features a parallel guide and tailstock. Samples of different geometries can be cut using a variety of sample holders. Our model features the CP mode, i.e. the sample can continuously oscillate in different deflections. This way, the saw can produce faster and smoother coplanar cuts which, depending on the material and the grit of the diamond band used, fulfil tight surface roughness value requirements.

Leeb-Hardness tester, Proceq Equotip 550 + Leeb C probe

The Proceq Equotip 550 is a versatile hardness tester based on the Leeb rebound-hardness principle for on-site testing of parts. Primarily used for metallic surfaces, TraCEr is looking at the potential of the equipment to be used on other materials (rock, bone, antler, wood…). The control unit features a touchscreen and allows various exportable measuring and analysis functions. A range of measuring probes such as portable Rockwell and UCI (ultrasonic) could be connected. Presently, a Leeb C probe is available at TraCEr. The Leeb C probe features the smallest impact energy (3 Nmm) so that it can be used on small samples (≥ 500 g).

Bow and arrow teststand, Kurt Wallensteiner Hard- and Software tool for bow and arrow tests

The teststand allows to control and measure draw weight, arrow velocity and hand shock in order to carry out reproducible shooting experiments with replicas of bows and arrows from archaeological contexts.


Reference Collection

Experimentally produced tools, replicas of archaeological tools, raw material samples and samples for material all form part of the reference collection. All samples are inventoried and identifiable via bar codes. The supporting data base contains the relevant information about all samples in the reference collection: Metadata (e.g. raw material, parameters for the manufacturing process or the usage, parameters for acquisition of analytical data, etc.), images, 3D-models and analytical results.

Die Ausstattung von TraCEr umfasst:


Bilderfassung

Bilderfassung von Gebrauchsspuren mittels hochauflösender Abbildungstechniken in 3D gewährleistet die Quantifizierung von Gebrauchsspurenmustern in verschiedenen Maßstabsebenen. Die Bilderfassung verfügt über die folgende Ausstattung:

Optischer 3D-Scanner, Aicon SmartScan-HE R8

Dieser optische Scanner mit Streifenlicht-Scantechnologie kann die Oberfläche von Proben beliebiger Größe digitalisieren. Wir haben derzeit zwei Sichtfelder zu Verfügung: 110 × 80 × 70 und 355 × 265 × 220 mm, mit einem Punkt-zu-Punkt-Abstand von 33 bzw. 108 μm. Die erfassten 3D-Modelle können dann für Archivierungszwecke verwendet werden und bilden die Grundlage weiterer manueller oder automatisierter Datenverarbeitung (z.B. Abmessungen, Volumen, GIS-Analysen…).

Stereomikroskop, Zeiss SteREO Discovery.V8

Dieses Stereomikroskop wird verwendet, um Proben vor der weiteren Analyse bei geringer Vergrößerung (0,63×/0,116 Objektiv mit 10× Okularen) zu überprüfen. Die verschiedenen Lichtquellen (LED Schwanenhals und Ringlicht), die große Probenhöhe (250 mm) und die Digitalkamera (Farb-CMOS-Sensor mit 5MP) ermöglichen eine schnelle Charakterisierung und Dokumentation nahezu aller Proben.

3D-Digitalmikroskop, Zeiss Smartzoom 5

Dieses digitale, voll motorisierte Mikroskop liefert hochwertige 2D-, EDF- und 3D-Bilder mit totalen Vergrößerungen von 34× bis 1010× für Dokumentation und Analyse. Der Mikroskopkopf kann geneigt werden, so dass Proben mit Abmessungen bis zu 13 × 10 × 12 cm und bis zu 4 kg Gewicht aus verschiedenen Winkeln betrachtet werden können, ohne die Probe in instabilen Positionen fixieren zu müssen.

Aufrechtes Lichtmikroskop, Zeiss Axio Imager.Z2 Vario, verkoppelt mit einem 3D Laserscanning-Konfokalmikroskop, Zeiss LSM 800 MAT

Unser Gerät vereint zwei Instrumente in einem: ein aufrechtes Lichtmikroskop (metallographisches Mikroskop) und ein konfokales Laser-Scanning-Mikroskop. Das erstgenannte wird verwendet, um ein optisches Bild der Probe zu erhalten, zum Beispiel für eine herkömmliche Gebrauchsspurenanalyse, während das zweite eine dreidimensionale Darstellung der Oberfläche im Submikrometerbereich zur Quantifizierung von Gebrauchsspurenmustern liefert. Beide Techniken können angewendet werden, ohne die Probe zu bewegen, so dass die Ergebnisse beider Analysemethoden direkt verglichen werden können. Je nach Anwendung, Aufnahmemodi und Kontrastmethoden stehen uns folgende Objektive zur Verfügung: 5×/0.2, 10×/0.4, 20×/0.22, 20×/0.7, 50×/0.55, 50×/0.75, 50×/0.95.

Weitere Geräte

HP 3D Streifenlichtscanner Pro S2
Dino-Lite Edge 5MP


Probenvorbereitung

Das Probenvorbereitungslabor ist aufgrund seiner Ausstattung für vielfältige Arbeiten nutzbar. Abluftschränke und eine Absaughaube mit Aktivkohle-gefilterter Umluft erlauben den Gebrauch von Gefahrstoffen. Ein Trockenschrank und eine beheizbare 80 Liter-Vakuumkammer stehen ebenfalls zur Verfügung.


Versuchswerkstatt

Versuchsaufbauten und -durchführungen werden hier in hohem Maße kontrolliert bzw. überwacht. Dies gewährleistet unter anderem eine Kombination aus industriellem Materialprüfstand mit Messgeräten für Materialeigenschaften. Die Versuchswerkstatt verfügt über die folgende Ausstattung:

Programmierbarer Materialprüfstand (Inotec Smarttester)

Der Inotec Smarttester ist ein programmierbarer, modularer Teststand zur Funktionsprüfung und zur Simulation von Dauerbelastungen von Materialien (z.B. Tribologie), Produkten und Komponenten aus dem Bereich der fertigenden Industrie. Der Prüfling wird mit Hilfe von elektrischen oder pneumatischen Aktuatoren einer vorprogrammierten Belastung unterzogen, die mit Hilfe von Sensorik und einer Steuereinheit überwacht wird. Somit können materialpaarungsabhängige Verschleissphänomene betrachtet und mit Hilfe der 3D-Bilderfassung quantifiziert werden. TraCEr ist das erste archäologische Labor, das sich der Smarttester-Technik bedient.

Diamant-Steinsäge (Steinschleifmaschinen & Lapidary Tools Ltd. Goliath 450)

Die solide Diamanttrennsäge Goliath 450 mit Diamanttrennscheibe bis 450mm Durchmesser findet ihre Verwendung beim manuellen Trennen von Gesteinen, Mineralien, Versteinerungen, Edelsteinen, Glas, Keramik und Knochen. Geschnitten wird, je nach Sägeblatt, mit einer Wasser/Kühlöl Emulsion oder reinem Wasser. Maximale Schnitthöhe ist 160mm.

Diamant-Bandsäge (Exakt 310CP)

Die Präzisions-Diamantbandsäge Exakt 310 wurde entwickelt, um das hochpräzise Trennen einer großen Vielzahl von Materialien und Materialkombinationen zu ermöglichen. Die EXAKT 310 bietet eine Parallelführung und einen Reitstock; das Bearbeiten verschiedenster Probengeometrien wird durch eine Auswahl unterschiedlicher Probenhalter ermöglicht. Unser Modell entspricht der CP Modellvariante, d.h. die Probe kann in verschiedenen Auslenkungen kontinuierlich oszillieren. Mit diesem Verfahren lassen sich, in Abhängigkeit vom Schnittgut und der Band-Diamantkörnung, noch bessere Rauheitskennwerte erzielen und schnellere, planparallele Schnitte erreichen.

Leeb-Härtetester (Proceq Equotip 550 mit Leeb C Sonde)

Das Proceq Equotip 550 ist ein vielseitiges Härteprüfgerät für die mobile Prüfung von Bauteilen nach dem Prinzip der Leeb Rückprallhärte. Primär auf Metalloberflächen angewendet, betrachtet das TraCEr Labor die Nutzbarkeit auch auf anderen Oberflächen, wie z.B. Gestein, Knochen, Geweih, oder Holz. Die Kontrolleinheit mit einem Touchscreen erlaubt verschiedene exportierbare Mess- und Analysefunktionen und den Anschluss verschiedener Mess-Sonden, wie mobile Rockwell Sonde oder UCI-Sonde (Ultraschall). Momentan steht eine Leeb C Sonde zur Verfügung. Die Leeb C Sonde ist für eine kleine Schlagenergie (3 Nmm) ausgelegt und kann deshalb auch auf kleinen Proben (≥ 500 g) angewendet werden.

Bogen- und Pfeiltester (Kurt Wallensteiner Hard- und Softwaretool für Bogen- und Pfeiltests)

Der Tester erlaubt die Steuerung und Messung von Zuggewicht, Pfeilgeschwindigkeit und Handschock. Dieser Aufbau ermöglicht die Durchführung von reproduzierbaren Schußexperimenten mit Replikaten von Bögen und Pfeilen aus archäologischen Fundkomplexen.


Referenzsammlung

Experimentell erzeugte Werkzeuge, Replikate von archäologischen Werkzeugen, Rohmaterialien sowie materialwissenschaftliche Proben bilden die Referenzsammlung. Alle Proben sind inventarisiert und mit Barcodes identifizierbar. Die unterstützende Datenbank enthält Information über alle Proben in der Referenzsammlung: Metadaten (z.B. Rohmaterial, Erstellungs- und Nutzungsparameter für die experimentellen Werkzeuge und Abläufe, Parameter der analytischen Datenerfassung…), Bilder, 3D-Modelle und analytische Ergebnisse.